Annual leave & public holidays

Annual leave

Adobe provides time off so you can relax and recharge. Please make arrangements with your manager before taking time off.

How much you earn

Adobe encourages you to use your full annual leave each year to rest and rejuvenate.

The amount of annual leave you earn is based on how long you’ve been with Adobe:

# of times entering into 1st December Days of paid annual leave
1st time entering December 1 (except hired on December 1; please refer to example #2) 12
2nd time entering December 1 14
3rd time entering December 1 16
4th time entering December 1 18
5th or more time entering December 1 20

If you are a new hire, your number of annual leave days will be based on the month you joined Adobe:

  • December–May: 10 days
  • June–August: 6 days
  • September–November: 4 days

Example #1

An employee who joins Adobe on September 1, 2019 would be entitled to 4 days until November 30, 2019. On December 1, 2019, the employee would be entitled to 12 days.

Example # 2

An employee who joins Adobe on December 1, 2019 would be entitled to 10 days until November 30, 2020. On December 1, 2020, the employee would be entitled to 12 days.

Schedule your annual leave in advance with your manager, and then submit your request through the leave tracking tool.

Considerations

  • All PTO days will be granted up front on December 1 each year, or on your hire date if you are hired midyear.
  • Unused days at the end of the current fiscal year may be carried forward only to the next fiscal year.
  • The maximum days that you can carry forward to the next fiscal year is equal to your entitlement of the current fiscal year.
  • Unused PTO upon termination will not be paid out.

Company break periods

Adobe takes two company breaks each year, during Golden Week and New Year’s. The dates are fixed each year:

  • Year End and New Year’s (from December 27 through January 4)
  • Golden Week (from April 29 through May 5)

Public holidays

All Adobe employees are eligible for national holidays stipulated in the "National Holidays Act.”

2019 Holiday Schedule

Date Holiday
Tuesday, January 01, 2019 New Year’s Day
Wednesday, January 02, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Thursday, January 03, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, January 04, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Monday, January 14, 2019 Coming of Age Day
Monday, February 11, 2019 National Foundation Day
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Vernal Equinox Day
Monday, April 29, 2019 Showa Day
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Wednesday, May 01, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Thursday, May 02, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, May 03, 2019 Constitution Day
Saturday, May 04, 2019 Green Day
Monday, May 06, 2019 Children’s Day (in lieu of May 5)
Monday, July 15, 2019 Marine Day
Monday, August 12, 2019 Mountain Day (in lieu of August 11)
Monday, September 16, 2019 Respect for the Aged Day
Monday, September 23, 2019 Autumnal Equinox Day
Monday, October 14, 2019 Health Sports Day
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 Ceremony of Enthronement
Monday, November 04, 2019 National Culture Day (in lieu of November 3)
Saturday, November 23, 2019 Labor Thanksgiving Day
Friday, December 27, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Monday, December 30, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Adobe Paid Holiday
Wednesday, January 01, 2020 New Year’s Day 2020
Thursday, January 02, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, January 03, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday