Annual leave & public holidays

Annual leave

Adobe provides time off so you can relax and recharge. Please make arrangements with your manager before taking time off.

How much you earn

Adobe encourages you to use your full annual leave each year to rest and rejuvenate.

The amount of annual leave you earn is based on how long you’ve been with Adobe:

# of times entering into 1st DecemberDays of paid annual leave
1st time entering 1st December (except hired on December 1; please refer to example #2)12
2nd time entering 1st December14
3rd time entering 1st December16
4th time entering 1st December18
5th or more time entering 1st December20

If you are a new hire, your number of annual leave days will be based on the month you joined Adobe:

  • December–May: 10 days
  • June–August: 6 days
  • September–November: 4 days

Example #1

An employee who joins Adobe on 1st September 2018 would be entitled to 4 days until 30th November 2018. On 1st December 2018, the employee would be entitled to 12 days.

Example # 2

An employee who joins Adobe on 1st December 2018 would be entitled to 10 days until 30th November 2019. On 1st December 2019, the employee would be entitled to 12 days.

Schedule your annual leave in advance with your manager, and then submit your request through the leave tracking tool.

Considerations

  • All PTO days will be granted up front on December 1 each year, or on your hire date if you are hired midyear.
  • Unused days at the end of the current fiscal year may be carried forward only to the next fiscal year.
  • The maximum days that you can carry forward to the next fiscal year is equal to your entitlement of the current fiscal year.
  • Unused PTO upon termination will not be paid out.

Company break periods

Adobe takes two company breaks each year, during Golden Week and New Year’s. The dates are fixed each year:

  • Year End and New Year’s (from December 27 through January 4)
  • Golden Week (from April 29 through May 5)

Public holidays

All Adobe employees are eligible for national holidays stipulated in the "National Holidays Act.”

2019 Holiday Schedule

DateHoliday
Tuesday, January 01, 2019New Year’s Day
Wednesday, January 02, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Thursday, January 03, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, January 04, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Monday, January 14, 2019Coming of Age Day
Monday, February 11, 2019National Foundation Day
Thursday, March 21, 2019Vernal Equinox Day
Monday, April 29, 2019Showa Day
Tuesday, April 30, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Wednesday, May 01, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Thursday, May 02, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, May 03, 2019Constitution Day
Saturday, May 04, 2019Green Day
Monday, May 06, 2019Children’s Day (in lieu of May 5)
Monday, July 15, 2019Marine Day
Monday, August 12, 2019Mountain Day (in lieu of August 11)
Monday, September 16, 2019Respect for the Aged Day
Monday, September 23, 2019Autumnal Equinox Day
Monday, October 14, 2019Health Sports Day
Monday, November 04, 2019National Culture Day (in lieu of November 3)
Saturday, November 23, 2019Labor Thanksgiving Day
Friday, December 27, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Monday, December 30, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Tuesday, December 31, 2019Adobe Paid Holiday
Wednesday, January 01, 2020New Year’s Day 2020
Thursday, January 02, 2020Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, January 03, 2020Adobe Paid Holiday