Annual leave & public holidays

Annual leave

Adobe provides time off so you can relax and recharge. Please make arrangements with your manager before taking time off.

How much you earn

Adobe encourages you to use your full annual leave each year to rest and rejuvenate.

The amount of annual leave you earn is based on how long you’ve been with Adobe:

# of times entering into 1st December Days of paid annual leave
1st time entering December 1 (except hired on December 1; please refer to example #2) 12
2nd time entering December 1 14
3rd time entering December 1 16
4th time entering December 1 18
5th or more time entering December 1 20

If you are a new hire, your number of annual leave days will be based on the month you joined Adobe:

  • December–May: 10 days
  • June–August: 6 days
  • September–November: 4 days

Example #1

An employee who joins Adobe on September 1, 2020 would be entitled to 4 days until November 30, 2020. On December 1, 2020, the employee would be entitled to 12 days.

Example # 2

An employee who joins Adobe on December 1, 2020 would be entitled to 10 days until November 30, 2021. On December 1, 2021, the employee would be entitled to 12 days.

Schedule your annual leave in advance with your manager, and then submit your request through the leave tracking tool.

Considerations

  • All PTO days will be granted up front on December 1 each year, or on your hire date if you are hired midyear.
  • Unused days at the end of the current fiscal year may be carried forward only to the next fiscal year.
  • The maximum days that you can carry forward to the next fiscal year is equal to your entitlement of the current fiscal year.
  • Unused PTO upon termination will not be paid out.

Company break periods

Adobe takes two company breaks each year, during Golden Week and New Year’s. The dates are fixed each year:

  • Year End and New Year’s (from December 28 through January 4)
  • Golden Week (from April 29 through May 6)

Public holidays

All Adobe employees are eligible for national holidays stipulated in the "National Holidays Act.”

2020 Holiday Schedule

Date Holiday
Wednesday, January 01, 2020 New Year’s Day
Thursday, January 02, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, January 03, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Monday, January 13, 2020 Coming of Age Day
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 National Foundation Day
Monday, February 24, 2020 Emperor’s Birthday (in lieu of Sunday, February 23)
Friday, March 20, 2020 Vernal Equinox Day
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 Showa Day
Thursday, April 30, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, May 01, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Monday, May 04, 2020 Green Day
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 Children’s Day
Wednesday, May 06, 2020 Constitution Day (in lieu of Sunday, May 3)
Thursday, July 23, 2020 Marine Day
Friday, July 24, 2020 Spots Day
Monday, August 10, 2020 Mountain Day
Monday, September 21, 2020 Respect for the Aged Day
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 Autumnal Equinox Day
Tuesday, November 03, 2020 National Culture Day
Monday, November 23, 2020 Labor Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 28, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Wednesday, December 30, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Thursday, December 31, 2020 Adobe Paid Holiday
Friday, January 01, 2021 New Year’s Day 2021
Monday, January 04, 2021 Adobe Paid Holiday